Tags

, , , ,

I just ordered two books for the GAPS diet that should make cooking and meal planning easier.  Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride’s book “Gut and Psychology Syndrome” will help me to fully understand the diet, and the recipe book “Internal Bliss” has lots of ideas for the later stages of the diet.

In the next couple of days I plan to make several “bone” soups that will be staples in the first few weeks of our GAP plan.  The diet begins officially on Monday and so we are consuming all the “bad” foods in our refrigerator this weekend.  In the beginning I’ll make the soups in large quantities so we can freeze the meat and broth to make the diet as convenient as possible.  We’ll add freshly cooked vegetables day by day, and thereby increase the variety and flavors.

My husband had his colon removed because of cancer more than 20 years ago, and so his tolerance of many foods is low.  Our eating will be even more complicated by my food allergies, which include eggs, chicken, milk, wheat and many vegetables. This should be a challenge!

For now, I’ll stick to organic beef and lamb for most of the soups and the fish counter at our local Whole Foods will offer enough options to keep us happy.  I’ve already decided that variety will make the diet a success, since it is clear that boredom is the downfall of most people who don’t stick to GAPS.

If anyone has recipes to share, please pass them on.  I’m looking forward to our new food adventure and to more good health.  GAPS for fibromyalgia is well documented and so I’m expecting to feel the benefits in the first few weeks. I’ll keep you posted.

