This is the 19th day of my diet and I’ve lost a little more than 10 pounds!!  I suspect 5 pounds of this is water, so I’m being realistic and admitting that I’ve probably lost 5 pounds of fat.

I took a basal metabolism test a couple of months ago that revealed I burn 1,300 calories at rest.  So, if I eat between 800 and 1,200 calories I should lose something.  I want to exercise, which will increase the number of calories I burn each day, but we are in the middle of a heat wave.  It has been over 95 degrees for weeks, and yesterday was 104!!!  Who says there is no global warming?

If we ever get out of this heat slump, I’ll start walking my dogs farther, and I also plan to take my bicycle out of mothballs.  There is a large parking lot near my house and my plan is to circle the lot until I work up enough energy to take the bike on the road.  Cooler weather will really kick start further weight loss.

I’ve been using the Midfast diet plan, which includes pre-packaged low calorie foods that you eat 5 times per day and then you eat a small meal of protein and green vegetable for the sixth meal.  It is simple and seems to be working. I’m also still taking all my supplements, which means I’m ingesting more than enough nutrients.  The only drawback is that it is made of soy protein, but who cares, I want to be thin again and I’m doing so many other things to boost my health that a few months of soy won’t hurt me in the long run.

I plan to update my weight loss and hope that some of you will chime in with your own weight loss stories and perhaps a few words of encouragement.  Onward and upward!

